Covid-19 Info & Updates

UUS is currently in Phase 3 of our Covid-19 reopening plan. Services are multiplatform, with both in person and virtual participation.

Click to learn more about our phases, requirements for meeting in person, and the overall UUS COVID response. Read more »

2021-2022 Board of Trustees

President: Alan Swanson
Vice President: Rochelle Honey-Arcement
Secretary: Paula Miller
Treasurer: Mike Pavelich
Past President: Joe Rasmussen
Financial Trustee: John Raley
Trustee: Hazel Seaba
Trustee: Diana Henry
Trustee: Julia Audlehelm


Congregational polity

“Congregational polity” is the Unitarian Universalist technical term for the way in which churches, fellowships and societies of this denomination are governed. In plain English, we govern ourselves. We select our own ministers, raise and spend our own money for salaries, building upkeep, supplies, and community outreach, as established in budgets we set for ourselves. We exist without any need for such hierarchical figures or structures as bishops, archbishops, presbyteries, dioceses, stakes or synods.

Unitarian Universalist Association

Which is not to say that we have no structure at all. The Unitarian Universalist Society (UUS) is a member of the national Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA), which serves our own and other congregations in a variety of ways, including providing consultants for fund-raising, for instance; and helping churches “match up” with ministers who meet and understand our interests and needs. Our congregation is a member of the UUA MidAmerica Region, an organization of twelve Midwestern states whose members and delegates meet annually to share program ideas.


At the end of each church year, the congregation elects new leadership. The person chosen as vice president serves one year in that role before automatically becoming president the following year and then serving one additional term as past president. All other roles, including secretary, treasurer, finance trustee and two at-large trustees, serve terms of two years each.

Learn more